Maisie Osteen, Richland County Public Defender’s Office – Columbia, SC

Dear Louisiana Board of Public Defense,

 

I write to you regarding the Public Defender’s Office of Lafayette Parish. I implore you to do everything within your power to keep the Public Defender’s Office intact and funded.

Although I have never been to Lafayette Parish, I have heard stories of the people of your parish. These stories were told from the mouths of lawyers who love and respect the community they serve. The State of Louisiana, and the people of the Lafayette Parish, greatly benefit from the vigorous defense the Public Defender’s Office provides the often forgotten of your community.

I am an Assistant Public Defender in Columbia, South Carolina. I have been at the Richland County Public Defender’s Office since becoming a lawyer in October 2014. During my first training as a defender, one of Lafayette’s young defenders gave an opening argument for one of her cases. I don’t exactly remember the facts of the case but I remember the passion, the dignity, and the care that the attorney brought to her client’s story. I herald that attorney as one of my mentors and I know how lucky the State of Louisiana is to have her and the rest of the Parish defenders.

Please save the Public Defender’s Office of Lafayette Parish.

 

Best,

 

Maisie B. Osteen

Assistant Public Defender

Richland County, South Carolina

Leave a Reply

